What documentation in Testing do you have?

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions What documentation in Testing do you have?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Ronan Healy
    Keymaster
    @ronan

I want to ask about how much documentation you have to manage in your role.

Of course documentation can vary widely depending on what your role is and the type of process your company has in place.

I would assume that many testers deal with Test cases, Test plans, status reports, Bug reports and maybe project proposals but what other documents are there that you deal with on a regular basis.

Do you find documentation a benefit to your role or do you think they take up too much time?

Mark
    Participant
    @mark-gilby

I’m a test manager / test consultant in both Waterfall and Agile worlds.

I deal with a wide range of documents, particularly in Waterfall and “frAgile”,  so will start with a brain dump:

1. Test Policy
    2. Test Strategy
    3. Test Plan (ISTQB – not Quality Center’s definition)
    4. Release Plans
    5. Release Notes
    6. Change Requests
    7. Requirements
    8. Solution Designs
    9. Contract / Statement of Work
    10. RAID logs
    11. Operational handover details
      • schedules
      • operational instructions
      • recovery dependencies, etc
    12. Emails (i.e. ad hoc change/clarification to solution)

But I have long been persuaded that some of these are never read, and do try my hardest to reduce & remove what I can. To avoid unnecessary duplication, I raise RAID items immediately into the project logs (or sometimes a testing RAID log) rather than writing them into the documents.

1.  Test Policy

Can’t say that I’ve come across one of these lately, but often a 1 page summary of the goals of the organisations testing activities & potentially appetite for risk.

2. Test Strategy