$ Value to testing?

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions $ Value to testing?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Stephen
    Participant
    @stevean

Hi, I know this subject has been discussed before, and will be discussed again; but I can’t find anything relevant at the moment and I thought it would be good to get a view from today.

I’ve been asked to quantify the value of testing; particularly the Service Acceptance Testing phase that I have been managing for the last 3 years. Whilst the organisation recognises the need for testing, and the transition/project managers know they have to include UAT in their budget, they don’t want to pay for it: Isn’t that the way for everything – money for nothing. They seem to be willing to budget for development, hardware, operations teams; but not testing. I know it’s because: development are perceived to produce a product that can be sold; and operations provide a service that can be billed for; but testing provides a service that is conceptual to most PM’s and not tangible.

I’ve suggested we analyse the last 3 years bugs and provide a cost to find v cost to release. e.g. Estimate how much to manage the calls to the Service Desk, man-hours to log – investigate – fix – functionally test – release/change management etc. That’s going to be a huge job, considering they have not invested in a proper test management tool and it’s all on spread-sheets. Also: How do you quantify customer satisfaction in a quality deployment, when they never reference testing as the reason they are happy; or quantify company reputation when testing is a hidden service?

How have you provided a quantified $ value for acceptance testing?

Padmaraj
    Participant
    @padmaraj

Hi,
    UAT is final testing phase. It validation that a developed system or app will meet user needs in the operational or business environment.