Test Automation for a Product base Insurance Domain software

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions Test Automation for a Product base Insurance Domain software

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Sunil
    Participant
    @sunil

Hi,

I have 12+ years of experience in manual testing and good hands on coding in  C#.

My company have a product which is used by the agents in USA to sell the Insurance. Product customized as per the client’s need. It has main 3 modules.

1. UI: is used to take the inputs from the client like age, risk class, Face amount …etc and validate them as the the product specification.

2. Engine: with the above inputs some rate calculation is carried out at the back-end and final values like cash value, Death benefit are displayed on UI.

3. Reports: A fully processed report which is ready to sell the product to customer.

We are now thinking to use the ease of automation in our organization and creates a team of 4 people initially. We are using Selenium with C# as a automation tool.

We need to automate the UI testing which includes the following

1. Entering input in fields.Navigation across all the pages to enter the inputs

2. Verify the states and defaults for the fields.

3. Verify the validation associated with the fields(if any)

4. Saving the case

To accomplish this, we are thinking for a framework. Here, I need some guidance from the experts. Which framework is good for us. Please write up some good and new suggestions

Darwin
    Participant
    @darwin

Possibly there could be many frameworks that would help accomplish the task you mentioned. Before considering a framework I would suggest to think through the scope clearly as how would you like to accomplish by keeping testing pyramid in mind.

1. Are the functions properly unit tested with better coverage?
    2. Is there an API to query and to test the backend?
    3. Finally try to add E2E tests on top