Newbie asked to set up Testing Department!

Home Forums Everyday Testing – Careers, Learning and more Newbie asked to set up Testing Department!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    N
    Participant
    @theonedoctor

Hi all,

First time on this site. I’ve landed an internship with a company after completing a Software Tester course. The course included the ISTQB, City & Guilds Software Tester exams and the Database Fundamentals MTA. I have lots of general IT experience and some website testing experience.

So I have been accepted for a six week internship with a view to a job if I do well. The company provides custom ERP software for a certain industry. I’ve been told that while the company is doing well, the software is very buggy, mainly due to devs testing their own code for the past 8 years.

I know the official way of testing software – requirements, specification, test plan, test cases, test log, test report etc. I’m not going to have time for all that. I need to keep documentation to a minimum, communicate effectively with devs and test constantly.

There’s no test environment, very little documentation, plenty of bug tracking tools, very little proper testing done for years and absolutely no test plan. On top of this they’ve just introduced Agile. I know the basics of it but that’s it.

Any practical ideas about how to go about this in the best possible way? Keep in mind I’m going into this with a job very much in mind. I cannot afford to screw up. This is one of the most important roles I’ve ever had and losing it will not only lose me a job but possibly my family as well. I hope I’m being clear.

Thanks all!

Andrei Domuta
    Participant
    @andrei-domuta

Hi, N

It seems like a messy situation there.

I can’t give you an advice on what to do there. I can just share to my latest ‘mission’ where I had to test a web platform and had no test management tool or no test environment. And no time to write proper test cases.