Knowledge shout out! – Who are you, what can you share, what you want to learn

Home Forums Info & Off-Topic Discussion Knowledge shout out! – Who are you, what can you share, what you want to learn

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Bram
    Participant
    @bram-bronneberg

Hi fellow testers,

My name is Bram and I’m a Management Consultant in the fields of Agile, Quality, Testing and Risk Management. I would like to share my experiences and thoughts with you on these subjects. I speak regularly on international conferences and advice and coach clients around these subjects.

I would love to hear your experiences on primarily Enterprise Agile implementations and model based testing.

Regards Bram

Dan
    Participant
    @danashby

Hi Bram!

I’m a firm believer that we all use a model based testing approach to some degree in all our testing.
    My interpretation of a model is an object or idea that represents or simplifies an activity or object where it helps us to understand that activity or object… Does that make sense? 🙂

Essentially, we will always build up a model of the system, be it in our heads or documented (maybe in the form of a mind-map or some people even like using excel) so that we can better interpret the system and think laterally, critically and logically about the system and it’s risks and values. So even a quick test that we perform is based on some model, even if it is in our heads and are subconsciously using it…

I remember James Bach stating that “Models link observation and inference”.
    I like this statement, but would also add that models that you document (e.g. mind-maps) can also be very useful as a form of reporting the inference!

What are your own opinions on model based testing?

Thanks,
    Dan

Bram
    Participant
    @bram-bronneberg

Hi Dan,