Having Certifications on the CV

Home Forums Everyday Testing – Careers, Learning and more Having Certifications on the CV

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Ronan Healy
    Keymaster
    @ronan

For those of you that are job hunting recently or those of you who are interviewing candidates, I am curious what you think about how having or not not Certifications on the CV.

If you do are you asked why you got Certifications?

I’m more curious about if you don’t. Are you asked why you haven’t got certification and are you asked to explain it?

Do Management look at CV’s differently if they have Certification or not?

I am curious what your experience has been and if you think Certifications makes a difference or not on CV’s?

Matthew
    Participant
    @web-eurostareuro-point-co-uk

As a manager, I often have to go through a large number of CVs, whether for a permanent or contract position. One of the first things I look for are easy ways to filter the candidates down to a manageable few that I can read in detail from which I can make a shortlist.

I actually have two quick wins:

1. Are there spelling mistakes and errors on the CV? If so, then it gets discarded. It sounds harsh, but I am interviewing for a test analyst, and I want attention to detail. If you are sloppy on your CV, then why should I expect you to be any more diligent working for me.

2. Do you have at least the ISEB/ISTQB Certificate in Software Testing? This indicates to me that you at least have a common understanding of the terms used in testing and methodologies used. If I asked you to carry out integration in the small, then I would expect you to be able to understand what I am asking you to do, just as I would not expect you to look at me blankly if I asked you to do Boundary Value Analysis.