Grouping automated tests, your experiences?

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions Grouping automated tests, your experiences?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Shane
    Participant
    @edwrd01

Complete beginner here in the world of testing pretty much. Basically I’m working with visual studio and selenium to automate a series of regression tests for a site. I’m wondering what peoples experiences are in terms of grouping tests, the two options I can see are to create my methods, place them in a test method and then test them in order this way, or to create an ordered test in visual studio and run them this way. I’m just curious to find out what opinions people have on either of these methods of grouping, and what experiences people have had with either of these methods of grouping, positive or negative.

Krister
    Participant
    @kristers

Hi @edwrd01

It’s the unexpectedly failed tests and unexpected events during testing that complicates automation. Following test cases or test suites become blocked and script stops.
    My experience is that test suites shall have an initiate procedure, taking you to a desired precondition, and an error recover procedure, taking you back to a known status, a point from you can run the next test suite.
    I like to think of it as a Daisy flower. You make a tour like a leaf out from centre and then returns to a safe state before taking next tour.

Rgds
    Krister

Alin
    Participant
    @groza-alin88

Hi Shane,