Selenium with Python or Selenium with Java?

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions Selenium with Python or Selenium with Java?

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    gohar
    Participant
    @gohar

1. Which has a better career, Selenium with Python or Selenium with Java?
    2. Which is widely used and why?
    3. Which is powerful?

Abir Khan
    Participant
    @abir11khan

@gohar, I am not a Selenium expert, but If you want to start with selenium you can start with a language that you think you can have more help from your surroundings like with a language that your development team uses.

Learning a programming language is not a very short term process, you have to have good help and patience.

Ronan Healy
    Keymaster
    @ronan

@alexsiminiuc might be able to answer this for you. He writing the Selenium series on the Huddle currently.

gohar
    Participant
    @gohar

Thank you @ronan 🙂 I will contact with him 🙂

Kasper
    Participant
    @kasper

Career wise I would go with Java.
    Java is more used in commercial applications than Python and so you can integrate better with development.

Which is more widely used is more difficult to answer. My guess will be Java for the reasons stated above, but Python is much easier to learn and understand for non programmers.

They are both powerful (as is C# for that matter). The functionality of Selenium does not change with the programming language.
    The programming language is used to code test functions for example in a Cucumber – Selenium – Java/C#/Python stack.
    So, if I want to test a login field I will use code to get the field from the Selenium Web driver and perform some actions on it.
    I will then use the Web Driver to collect the results and again code will determine if the results are conform expectations.

alan
    Participant
    @eviltester

1. Which has a better career, Selenium with Python or Selenium with Java?