Testing Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) software

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions Testing Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) software

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Konstantin
    Participant
    @konsty

Hello folks,

I am new here and a total newbie at security testing. 🙂 Currently, I do an internship in a company that offers an EDI software. My task is to evaluate some Application Security frameworks and run the EDI software on it. Lately, I did some researches to understand the techniques like SAST, DAST and IAST but still, I think there are difficulties to test an EDI Software with it, or maybe not? Like I said, totally new in this scene.

I thought you guys could help me to go into the right direction with my researches. Is it possible to test an EDI software with those frameworks and actually see vulnerabilities? Are there any hacking approaches known to how an EDI software can actually be hacked?

Please forgive my bad English.

Konstantin

Ronan Healy
    Keymaster
    @ronan

Good question. I am not too sure about that one but @declan-oriordan and @danielbilling might be able to answer that one for you.

Kasper
    Participant
    @kasper

Since the resident experts stay quiet I will try my best to answer, but the question is stated in very broad terms and so the answer will also be very generic. Sorry about that, but for more specific answers I will need more specific questions.

SAST, DAST, IAST and RASP can all be used against EDI software, given enough access to the source code. DAST can be done in a complete black box scenario, but the other techniques all need at least some access to the source code.

EDI software is not more or less difficult to test than any other software. But EDI relies extensively on the correct delivery of documents.
    This means that any hole in a transport mechanism, translator, or any other element that influences your data flow is immediately critical.